Sing a song without a voice

Mind's Seat

Psalms of the heart

Today, I have no voice. I have laryngitis from a respiratory bug and sinus infection. My thoughts travel back to a recent time of respite I had.

At the Englehart Nursing Home in northern Ontario I see a woman who uses a communication device to speak the thoughts she cannot say. Staff take time to talk with her, to give her that vital interaction she needs not to feel disabled,  but rather loved, valued, and a part of a caring community. This woman is singing a song from her heart without a voice.

My laryngitis is temporary. I will speak again. I will sing again. But this woman will never speak. She will never enjoy the blessing that comes from being able to speak without a communication device. I commend her. She presses on. She is still fighting. She is being a light in all the sadness and darkness in the…

View original post 505 more words

Leave a Reply

