No Shades For Me

Before I got saved, I read the first two books in the Shades of Grey series. I was in a relationship at the time and saw nothing wrong with reading them. They were exciting, quick reads because you just didn’t want to put them down. The only reason I didn’t read the last one was because I wasn’t able to borrow a copy. I never bought the books and I’m glad I didn’t.

Since getting saved, I have been removing the shades on things I used to enjoy and seeing them for what they really are in God’s eyes. Conviction can be taken as an insult by some people but for me it has been an opportunity to walk more in line with Jesus. I’m not going to say it’s been easy to let go of the temptations in this world but I am learning one sin at a time.

I’m not going to see 50 Shades of Grey tonight. I’m not going to see it this weekend or wait for it to come out on video. I’m not going to engage in colorful conversations about the movie nor will I allow myself to judge others that do. I’ve chosen a different path, one that is right for me, my husband, and my family.

We can choose to live in darkness or we can choose to live in the light. For me, I’ve learned not to want the darkness anymore. I won’t let it seduce me. I’m keeping my eyes focused on Jesus and leaving the shades in the drawer. What can I say? I’ve always liked the sun in my eyes.

4 thoughts on “No Shades For Me

  1. My wife and I have been going through the same struggle but now know that this is the right path. We used to like watching ‘Vikings’ and ‘Game of Thrones’ but realized that the sex scenes and violence were not good for us. It is something that we must keep out of our ‘eye gate.’ We are working through this one step at a time but we know that it is something that is pleasing to God.

    I’m glad you are on the same path.

    1. I completely agree with your thoughts Joe. As Christians in marriage, we must be more guarded of this precious relationship because satan will do whatever he can to tear you apart and certain shows, movies, books are a very useful tool to do just that. I also think it is a respect issue. I respect my husband to not look at other men or read material that would create lustful images in my mind. Instead I ask God to continue to bless our marriage and always give me a deep longing in my soul for my husband. It’s great to see not only you but your wife as well are seeking to glorify God in your thoughts and actions in your marriage. Thank you so much Kristeen for your candid thoughts on this popular issue!

Leave a Reply

