How to Pray For Your Children

Normally, I intro my way into one of my posts. Today’s message is going to be much bolder than that. No holding back, cut to the chase…

Pray passionately and IN FRONT of your children. Let them see you weep and cry out to the Lord. We are teaching our children how to live as Christ-filled and Christ-led with every one of our actions, but how can we do that when we shield them from our struggles? When we hold everything in, trying not to cry, because we don’t want to stress them out? Your kids already know that you are stressed, and yes, that does stress them out. BUT keeping that stress to yourself instead of releasing it to the Lord does nothing to relieve the stress. If anything, it can make things worse.

Unresolved, stress will eat away at your family.

Unresolved, stress will open the door for the devil to walk in your lives. 

In order to protect your family, you have to fall to your knees with your family. Give your kids an opportunity to pray first, asking them what they want to say to Jesus. I started this with my step kids at the age of three. Sometimes, William has something he wants to say and sometimes not. Either way, it gives him an opportunity to speak from his heart and deal with his own fears, handing them over to Jesus.

It’s never too early for a child to call out to Jesus for love, comfort, and protection. 

When your kids have had their turn, pour out your own heart. Pray out loud and don’t hold back. Let the words flow out of you, unobstructed. You may not know it, but praying brings comfort to your kids. Just as Jesus brings comfort to us, showing our heart and love for Jesus in prayer comforts our kids. I can’t tell you how many times my kids have fallen asleep while I’m praying over them. It is an amazing and beautiful thing to watch, and the revelations that can come out of these prayer sessions can literally leave you weeping with joy in the end.

I am praying for the person reading this message. I am praying for your children, and for your children’s children. Psalm 78:5-7 tells us that “He decreed statutes for Jacob and established the law in Israel, which he commanded our ancestors to teach their children, so the next generation would know them, even the children yet to be born, and they in turn would tell their children. Then they would put their trust in God and would not forget his deeds but would keep his commands.”

It’s never too late to start praying for your children, or too early to start praying for their children. 

5 thoughts on “How to Pray For Your Children

  1. I don’t have children of my own but I certainly do remember my mother praying for me and teaching us how to study the bible (a children’s bible ;-)). The bible says to train up a child in the way they should go and in their old age they will not depart. Children learn best by example – you’re absolutely right! Your children are blessed to have a mother who loves them enough to pray.

    1. I hope that’s how my stepchildren feel. I don’t have kids of my own as much as I would like. You are fortunate that you mother shared her time with you like that, sharing her spirituality with you. That is so beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

