Could You Say It?

Crepuscular_rays_color
I CAN’T WAIT FOR HEAVEN. 
 
Who feels like that? It’s an amazing and scary thought at the same time. Believe it or not, this has come from the mouth of a 20-year-old and I know that she is telling the truth. She says it with such joy and such peace. Lots of us say that we can’t wait to meet Jesus but can we really? Are we really ready to leave the world behind?
TO MY SHAME, I DON’T THINK I AM. 
It certainly makes me think about where I am with my faith. As much as I would like to say that’s how I feel, I still have a long way to go, a long way of letting go of this world. I go through life thinking that my faith is pretty good, that there are lots of things in this world that don’t matter to me. Yet, a simple phrase like this (ok, maybe not so simple) makes me look at everything differently. 
I’M NOT THE ONE CHEERING AT A FUNERAL. 
I used to find it kind of morbid when Christians would be happy when a friend would pass by, believing that they were in a better place. I’m closer to feeling that way now but I definitely don’t believe in parties. Maybe I hold on to my tears just a little too much because funerals still make me cry.
There is much to be learned living in this world, and I am far from a seasoned Christian. I still have a lot of living I want to do, things I want to experience but I do hope one day I can confidently be ready for Jesus to take me home, to leave my loving husband and kids behind. How about you?
8 thoughts on “Could You Say It?

  1. I’m getting more anxious to go to heaven as I grow older, but the world still has a strong grip on me. I love my life, my family, my friends because I have grown comfortable with them, but not one of them can keep me from dying. I know when the time comes exactly where I’m going, but starting over is frightening sometimes. God takes care of that by providing a perfection we will never know on this side of eternity. He has a wonderful place for me and he’s promised it to me. I plan to take him at his word.

    1. Thank you for being bold and sharing. I think we all get comfortable in our lives, and want to just hold on so I totally understand where you are coming from. Thank God He understands that we are not perfect but learning how to count on Him and trust in every way.

  2. Once I passed 50 (Now 64), preached the funerals of my parents and witnessed the passing of many a friend, the thought of having a lot of living to do certainly has lost its attraction to me.

    And yes, I most certainly do know that the saved persons are in a better place and would not trade heaven for any this world has to offer, but I do grieve their passing because I love them and long to share that love again with them.

  3. I grow weary of the wickedness I see in the world however I also love my family and friends and recognize the blessing and mission in this season of existence. However I often also wake up thinking, I one day closer to being home. It’s definitely a push/pull within me. Hopefully that doesn’t come across as morbid…. Thank you for sharing this! 😀

Leave a Reply

