What Love Can Do

6703271487_a2fe60b8ea_b

When I was a little girl, I would pretend that I was starring in a music video. I would act out all of these moves, as if I was a real singer. Fast forward into my adulthood, and I’ve done many videos already. I wish I could say I had the same confidence as I did when I was a child but hey, I’m a work in progress right?

The one thing I never really dreamed of was having an album of my own. I mean, I literally could never picture it. It’s not something I fantasized about, and even when I started a record label in 2014, it didn’t seem real. Does God really want me to put out an album?? I left it up to Him to work out and guess what? He did!

The Internet is a funny thing. You can put music out there on iTunes and Amazon but still feel detached. Music is not a tangible thing. Not really. But holding a CD in your hand with your music… that feels like an accomplishment. A lot more work goes into making a physical CD than putting it on iTunes. That’s not to say that it’s not a lot of work to get your stuff on iTunes because it is. Still, none of this is really something that I can take credit for.

This product, this CD is not meant for me. It’s not for my satisfaction, not for my pride, or anything else. It’s just a tool, another way to reach people because not everyone is on social media. Not everyone has iTunes or Amazon. Let’s face it… there are still lots of people that don’t even have computers.

Sometimes, we have to get back to basics. To be honest, the people that need Him the most right now will probably never hear my music and that’s ok. As a matter of fact, the family I minister to daily is almost entirely cut off from civilization. Do you know how we show love to each other? We sing for each other over the phone. Handwritten songs, ballads, old hymns, lullabies, songs to comfort each other… whatever it takes to bless the other. I don’t think I have even sang one of my songs over the phone. It’s all about what is needed in the moment, not about selling myself.

Maybe you will be one of those people that buys my album, and gives an extra copy to someone else that needs it. Maybe you will bypass this message and move on to something else. Either way, it’s not our accomplishments that mean the most in this world. It’s what God can accomplish through us.

One thought on “What Love Can Do

Leave a Reply

