I Never Could Have Known

pexels-photo-30222

I came across one of your songs today, and a flood of emotions came to the surface. The love for a young girl that died way too young. I wanted to save you, I wanted to love you and give you a home but God had other plans.

I know the song* was how you got through your last days. And as it made its way to my playlist, I wrote this for you… I miss you sweet Faith.

 

I never could have known

What you went through,

The constant doubt, the many questions

Would now be filling my days.

I did the best I could,

Trying to be there for you

 

But I never could have known

Just what you really went through.

I feel like a failure

I get it now, I really do;

I was nowhere near

What you needed me to be;

 

You needed a miracle,

And I was never going to

Be able to give that to you

And now that I’m in the fire,

I feel the doubt, I have the questions

But you’re already gone.

 


*Fight Song by Rachel Platten

2 thoughts on “I Never Could Have Known

    1. Yes, especially to a child. She was only 12, and I was more of a motherly figure in her life. I could never feel her pain; the same is true for her foster mom. They both died within six months of each other. Still trying to understand how and why everything played out the way it did.

Leave a Reply

