I Forgot What This Was Like…

harli-marten-n7a2OJDSZns-unsplash 2

I just got a taste of it, a taste of something I used to have pretty regularly, something I forgot that I still need from time to time.

Silence. Peace. Rest. 

Things can change so quickly sometimes that we forget even the basics. In the middle of this hectic day, with a packed house full of press conferences, barking dogs, and restless children during an extra week of spring break, I was handed a perfect moment with absolutely nothing to fret or get worked up about. Where I could simply relax. How did I manage that?

Everyone just walked away.

I didn’t even have to close my eyes. I took a deep breath, laid my head back on my chair, and that was enough for me.This was a daily occurrence before hospice, before Nick’s job let him start working from home so he could be my full-time caretaker. I was used to having the house to myself and not having to worry about any chaos, save for what I came up with on my own or found on tv. He’s had sometime to get used to the situation; I was too busy just dealing I guess.

Peace is a beautiful thing.

In the months that have passed, Nick has done way more than just be there for me. He’s been more than a loving caretaker, or just a guy that happened to take his wedding vows seriously that day. He has told me many times and showed me in many more that there is no need for me to do anything.

The only thing he wants me to do is relax. He basically doesn’t want me to stress about anything because he has everything handled. Sound familiar?

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” ‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5:7‬ ‭KJV‬‬

____

Photo by Harli Marten on Unsplash

3 thoughts on “I Forgot What This Was Like…

  1. Hi Kris, I love that you’re writing again. Aunt Jackie XOXO

    On Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 6:51 PM Kristeen Nicole Gillooly wrote:

    > kngillooly posted: ” I just got a taste of it, a taste of something I used > to have pretty regularly, something I forgot that I still need from time to > time. Silence. Peace. Rest. Things can change so quickly sometimes that we > forget even the basics. In the middle of this he” >

Leave a comment